Guidance and Comfort

Guess these are two things I am always searching for when they have slipped away. Guidance….because I am much better at being obedient to God than I am at discerning His will. Life would be so much easier if He would just send me a daily to do list (maybe with a Google reminder on my phone?) letting me know exactly which choices I should make and which projects to take on. Oh, I could so subscribe to that service!!!!

As for comfort, well, I am a sweatpants and T-shirt kind of person for sure…and definitely comfortable shoes! But I suppose a better word than comfort would be security. I want to know I am safe. I am okay. I am loved. I need that reassurance that I am on the right track and its all going to turn out okay.

Of course, life isn’t like that. (Most definitely not right now!!!) and so the words of the First Hour prayers really hit me this morning. I want to write them over and over and over. On the walls. On the ceiling. On my hand. On my heart.

So I’ll start by writing them here, sharing them with you.

Order my steps in Your word and so shall no wickedness have dominion over me. Deliver me from the wrongful dealings of men, and so I shall keep Your commandments. Show the light of Your countenance upon Your servant and teach me Your statutes. Let my mouth be filled with Your praise, O Lord, that I may sing of Your glory and honor all the day long.

O Christ the true light, enlightening and sanctifying every man who comes into the world: Let the light of Your countenance shine on us, that in it we may behold the ineffable light.  Guide our footsteps aright in keeping Your commandments, through the intercessions of Your all-pure Mother and of all the saints. Amen.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

